Skip to content

I can’t wait to see you again

May 17, 2011

And see you again I will, as I am reading as part of Power Trip, All the Best’s event at the Sydney Writers’ Festival. My name ain’t on the program but I will be reading an exciting little story about King St and a very dark night.

Also, on Sunday is the MCA’s annual zine fair, at which I will have a table with Simon and Miss Helen. I have a new Disposable Camera and plenty of new-ish zines that you may not yet have…do come and say hello.

This is the cover of the aforementioned new Disposable Camera – what on earth could it be about? There’s a map inside as usual, and plenty of underground musings. You will have to come to the fair to find out more.

Another item of note is that I’ve been awarded one of the CAL Western Sydney Writers’ Fellowships! I will be revealing my project for it very soon. The fellowship was announced last night at the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards dinner, at which I and many other esteemed guests learnt that the Premier finds being in the audience at writers’ festivals an erotic experience. Well I never! Even though I have kept reasonably coy about details in this short blog post, I at least told you that.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Natasha permalink
    May 19, 2011 6:51 pm

    Hi Vanessa,
    I can’t make it to the zine fair, I’m about to write to you
    about your NZ zine so I was wondering if you could possibly put aside a new disposable camera
    zine also? If so, how much would it be? Thanks and hope
    you have a lovely weekend
    Natasha

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      May 22, 2011 7:00 pm

      Hi Natasha,
      Sure, I’ll put those aside for you – I have two zines about New Zealand, an I am a Camera about Dunedin and Kingdom by the Sea, which is about Oamaru.
      The zine fair was fun but tiring, I don’t know how it can be so tiring to sit in one spot all day…

  2. May 22, 2011 3:34 am

    Congratulations on being awarded the fellowship. I look forward to seeing what you create.
    Ryan x

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      May 22, 2011 7:01 pm

      Thanks Ryan! I wonder what kind of shape it will take as I do it…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

