Skip to content

Disposable Camera (Puffer Fish)

October 19, 2011

Amid all the turmoil in my life I have been slowly making a Disposable Camera. For the last few years I’ve been including a map in the centre of the zine. As is a bit of a habit with me, what starts out as simple and almost throwaway turns into a major preoccupation. This time it’s an A3 memory patchwork extravaganza of every time I’ve been to Melbourne and my recollections and observations thereof. Within it you will also discover the reason for the puffer fish on the cover. I had a lot of fun gocco printing hundreds of puffer fish one afternoon. It was the first time I sent a text message that said: “Can we make it a bit later? I’ve just printed hundreds of puffer fish and they’re everywhere”.

Apart from the map, there’s also a story about my most recent visit to Melbourne. For the map I wrote a list of all the times I’ve been to Melbourne and worked out it was at least 25. Every time has had its own distinct character and purpose, and while I have never felt as if I belong in Melbourne, I enjoy my regular visits to the city which is not my own.

Would you like one of these things swimming its way to you?  I have put a few on Etsy, sent some to Take Care distro, and of course you can always write to me about trading or coins in the post. If you’re more the type who likes to go out and hunt down your puffer fish, there are some for sale at Sticky.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 10:53 pm

    Hooray! I’ve always hoped you’d do a Melbourne zine – will look out for it at Sticky Institute…

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      October 21, 2011 10:38 am

      I’ll update this post when I’ve distributed the zine to Sticky etc. It will be in a few weeks…

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      November 9, 2011 8:43 am

      I finally sent some zines to Sticky this Monday! So they should be in stock soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

