Skip to content

Two nights with 2000 kilometres between them

July 23, 2012

No, I haven’t been gobbled up by the frowning street ghost of my previous post, I’ve had a dreadful version of the cold that has been sneezed around Sydney for the last month or so. Many days on end I spent lying in bed. Getting up and trying to do things only created dropping, breaking and losing kinds of disasters. However I seem to be on the mend, and am here to tell you about a couple of upcoming events.

The first is the launch of Contrappasso, a new literary journal that includes a story excerpted from my Band T-Shirt zine, and also features me, Simon, the whippet, and our Eiffel tower on the the cover (from a beautiful photo by Will Reichelt). It’s going to be launched at Sappho Books on Wednesday 1st August at 6:30pm. I’ll be there, reading from my story in the journal along with some of the other authors.

The night after I will be in a different country altogether, that beautiful land across the Tasman Sea with the Pinky bars. I’ll be at the Auckland Zinefest on Thursday August 2nd, it is from 6-9pm, at St Kevins Arcade on K Road – the road so famous it only needs one letter! Auckland Libraries Zine Collection is celebrating its one year anniversary also. I have never been to Auckland before so am going to be asking people what city and suburban oddities I can visit while I’m there, but if you, dear reader, know of any, please tell me, and I will write a report on them when I return.

One Comment leave one →
  1. matthewasprey permalink
    July 25, 2012 10:01 am

    Jet-setter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

