Skip to content

Mystery Mail Art Explosion

September 13, 2012

In 2009 all the zines I’d made to that date were exhibited in an exhibition at the MCA called Avoiding Myth and Message, Australian Artists and the Literary World. Along with the zines was a pile of postcards on which you could write messages to me and post them in a red postbox. These postcards were very popular and I have thousands of them which, at the time, I put into categories, but have not yet done anything with. This was three years ago.

About a month ago I went to check my po box and it was full of postcards from the exhibition, from Brasil, Serbia, USA, Italy, all with rubber stamps and unusual messages, all from mail artists. It was a surprise to get this sudden rush of postcards. One included a clue: “I received this card from our mutual friend Terry R.” I don’t know Terry R. but Terry must have picked up a stash of these postcards at the exhibition and kept them until 2012 before releasing them into the mail art universe. Thanks Terry R.!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

