Skip to content

To my dear readers at the end of 2013

December 31, 2013

Dear Readers,

Thank you for following my exploits this year, whoever and wherever you may be. It’s a sunny, cicada-loud morning as I write this on the last day of the year and I’m feeling a kind of lazy, holiday contentment with things, even though I’ve been slowly working away on a writing project for the new year. Distractions come easily, but I let them.

In the year past I had my 90s teen memoir Ninety9 published by Giramondo, which led to a string of launches, a recreation of my teenage bedroom, and a walking tour of 1990s Newtown. I kept delving into the mysteries of Sydney on my blog Mirror Sydney, writing stories and making maps. I wrote a blog series for Sydney Living Museums for Public Sydney, hosted a Band T-shirt Tea party and a Morrissey party, found kittens in my yard, bought a giant teapot, wrote letters, saw Einstürzende Neubauten, went to the drive-in cinema, took at least 7750 photographs, taught students how to use semicolons properly and how to make zines, made my hair into a beehive, felt happy, felt sad, felt thankful for everyone who supports me, my readers and followers, i.e. you.

See you on a fresh page of the calendar,

x Vanessa.

Vanessa BOMB

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2013 11:59 am

    Sounds like you had an awesome year! Good luck in 2014 :)

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      December 31, 2013 12:07 pm

      Thanks Jayde, all the best to you for 2014 too!

  2. December 31, 2013 5:55 pm

    More power to ya! Here’s to a Vanessa great 2014, with all its inevitable happy and sad bits and all.

    Because if it’s not love…

  3. December 31, 2013 11:14 pm

    Is the beehive making a comeback or was it never out? I like it anyway. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

