Skip to content

Sydney Writers’ Festival 2014

April 21, 2014

SWF Program

 

I’ll be at the Sydney Writers’ Festival this year for a few events relating to Ninety9. First of all I’m running a teen memoir workshop called “Puberty Clues” on Saturday May 17th at the State Library, in which I will tell you all I know about writing a coming of age memoir. The next Friday, the 23rd of May, I’m on a panel about music and memoir with Emma Ayres and Omar Musa, “A Life in Rhythm“. It’s on from 4:30 – 5:30pm at Pier 4/5. Later that night I’m reading at “Mixtape Memoirs“, hosted by The Lifted Brow at the Festival Club. This jolly event will be from 7:30pm and features writers reading stories about an important song which changed their life somehow. This song will be performed live by the house band, and there will be accompanying visuals from comic artists – something for almost all the senses! What song have I chosen? There’s no fun in me revealing it now, but I will say that it’s usually listened to alone in a darkened room, or when emerging from the dry ice on the dancefloor, swishing your cape around. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2014 6:34 pm

    Plan on coming to see you on the Friday, Vanessa – look forward to seeing you in action!

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      April 27, 2014 1:15 pm

      That’s fantastic Walter, I look forward to meeting you. I’ll hopefully get to your Thursday session with Stephanie Dowrick if I can get in to the festival that day.

  2. September 19, 2014 9:04 pm

    This is an event I really regret missing. I don’t even really have a good reason why. I think I even mentioned it on a blog entry somewhere, but I can’t find it now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

