Skip to content

Admission

May 20, 2010

It is a Thursday afternoon in autumn and I am drinking the cold dregs of a cup of tea and sifting through words for this introduction in my mind. I have been procrastinating, in fact I just had to wrench myself away from a Coles supermarket catalogue; it had suddenly become very interesting. Jelly snakes, $1.50 with voucher…

I have been considering making a blog version of Vanessa Berry World for years. My hesitancy has involved a complex internal war including my feelings about digital technology, the future, privacy/exposure and obligation as well as a lack of vim for living elements of my life online. It has been easy to distract myself away from the idea.

However lately a different feeling has arisen, to counter all my anxiety. When reading people’s blogs – my friends’, favourite writers, or just ones I stumbled across searching for some ingot of information – I felt thankful. I tried to imagine what the internet would be like if everyone like me felt too conflicted to use things like blogs to publish their ideas. One big mess of shopping and sex, all surface, nothing beneath it.

I could at least try it out. No devil would come to collect my soul if I signed up to wordpress. (In fact, I am already a member, I kept a blog when I was in Germany in 2008: froschperspektive.wordpress.com.)

Vanessa Berry World is definitely an island, but new technologies come along, bridges can be built, the field can be used as a landing strip, we (me and the other Vanessas) might even consider getting electricity one day. I will be standing in the future before I know it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 10:21 am

    welcome aboard!
    here’s to more of the good stuff.

  2. Penny Spent permalink
    June 13, 2010 10:03 am

    Hooray!

Leave a Reply

