Skip to content

Had to take had to put

June 23, 2010

Staring at a picture of a long ago traffic accident, a truck with the legend “Perfect Muffins and Crumpets” on the side crunched into a car, then catching sight of my reflection in the television (34cm, very old, reception useless, soon to be completely useless when digital takes over). I am wearing my electric blue tracksuit and the result is unexpectedly sporty. My hair’s up in a ponytail and I look as if I am off to do some kind of wholesome track activity.

The truth is that it is so cold inside my house that I have to put on as many clothes as I can to stay alive. As those who have read my latest I am a Camera would know, I live in a fibro house. I have always wanted to live in one, it seems like the ultimate adherence to the world of the past, but it is a building material one step above cardboard in terms of insulation. It is warmer outside, but it is also raining, so I stay inside with the tiny heater beside me, making piles of student’s assignments and listening to The Wonderful and Frightening World of the Fall.

I have had this record for a long time, I remember putting it on in 1997 and laughing at the line: “three little girls, with only 50 pence, had to take, had to put, the curly wurly back”. I still laugh at it now, it’s absurd! A voice in my head tells me I should at least try to listen to now music, and this is what will age me, but that voice is a dreadful pain. In my own, freezing house, voice, I can live in whatever era I want.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Spent permalink
    June 26, 2010 9:59 am

    I can’t look at a Curly Wurly without thinking of the Fall! References to the Fall seem to be following me around lately. (Or perhaps I’ve been seeking them out, with my psychic Fall radar).

  2. Vanessa Berry permalink*
    June 26, 2010 4:42 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever eaten one… A psychic Fall radar must keep you busy! He’s a wordy chap that MES – I was playing the song to Simon so he could hear the Curly Wurly line, and it seemed like there were 1000 words before it!

    • Fergus permalink
      September 3, 2010 11:44 am

      Never eaten a Curly Wurly?!

  3. Vanessa Berry permalink*
    September 3, 2010 9:17 pm

    I tried one after writing this, but it wasn’t the kind of chocolate bar I like – the caramel was too hard on the teeth and made me nervous to chew it.

Leave a Reply

