Skip to content

Eat Sort Dig

October 27, 2010

I have been thinking how if I were to write a book like Eat Pray Love, it would be called Eat Sort Dig. No travel would be required – everything I need is here within the confines of my domain in suburban Sydney.

I haven’t read it, but I have skimmed over Eat Pray Love when I have come across copies in op shops. In a few years, it and the Twilight series will take up whole shelves in the book section of the op shop. For now, though, they are still unfurling their tendrils, their blockbuster magic is still working.

Unsurprisingly, based on my brief scans over its contents, Eat Pray Love is not my kind of thing. I remember, years ago, Christelle describing the plot to me, telling me how it was the new hot book for women. I resolved to stay well away from it, although it has been hard to avoid it at times. But really doesn’t bother me particularly much – I live a life where I these blockbuster things are like clouds. They float over, but will always pass.

Eat Sort Dig is a rather more primal affair, with none of the complexities of praying and loving to complicate matters. The eating part is self explanatory. Does anyone really need to be told about eating? There does exist those people for whom food is merely a distraction, and indeed sometimes I feel this way myself, yet I am more likely to spend hours making borscht and dumplings.

The sorting part is something that gives me a lot of pleasure but according to some is a sign of insecurity. I am a bit of a hoarder, though I hate the negative connotations of the word. Why on earth is it bad to have a lot of stuff? Sure, it’s bad to have so many things that you don’t know what you have, and you have to squeeze past towers of things to get out the door, but this is where the sorting comes in. I am happy with a pile of papers, sorting them into categories. The scene I am looking at here as I type is one of organised chaos that would probably make many want to faint but makes me feel pretty happy. I know everything that’s in there! Much of it is of vital importance and very interesting.

The digging part is a more common pastime. I just went out into the yard and planting some sunflower seeds – it is (almost) the time of year for planting them! I didn’t have much luck with them last year, so this year my method is to chuck some seeds in and see what happens. Lavishing care upon my seedling resulted in them all wilting last year. They failed to thrive, but I wasn’t dissuaded.

Surprise! No one is interested in Eat Sort Dig! It’s just about me pottering about my house! I’m going off to look in the fridge and then search my bookcase and go out into the garden to pick dandelions. Au revoir.

Ps. If there’s one message I want you to take away from this aimless blather its for those in the temperate zones of the southern hemisphere – buy sunflower seeds now and plant them. Everyone loves sunflowers come summertime.

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. emily permalink
    October 27, 2010 6:20 pm

    I really like your observations; twilight and eat pray love will indeed have their own shelves, just under the dan brown catelogue that’s already there now

  2. October 28, 2010 1:26 am

    I think plenty of people would be interested if you wrote a book called Eat Sort Dig. Speaking of sunflowers, Joern told me the Romanians call them Russian Chewing gum ’cause the Russian soldiers distributed sunflower seeds after WW2 much the same way U.S. G.I.s handed out chewing gum.

  3. November 25, 2010 10:03 am

    i wanted to comment on the post where you talk about not feeling ‘comfortable in the interworld’. but it’s disappeared. & now i can’t remember what i would have written.

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      November 25, 2010 11:23 am

      I had second thoughts! Which is the problem I was writing about, I guess. I have a lot of anxiety about writing online – with both my own writing and also how others write online, and how writing is changing. What I wonder is when people will give up on writing altogether. I don’t mean that in a conservative, alarmist sort of way, I just try to picture myself at age 70, say, and it’s some kind of science fiction bubble world where everything happens telepathically.

  4. November 25, 2010 11:37 am

    i imagine there will still be a space allowed for those who want to preserve the old ways… perhaps they’ll wear aluminium foil hats, to keep the telepathic writing of others out (it was on an old episode of ’round the twist’ yesterday)

  5. December 23, 2010 11:50 am

    i feel the same way about sunflowers!

    i NEVER remember to plant them on time, and then by the time i think of them, it’s too late – my thoughts tardily prompted by seeing gorgeous triffidic fullblown sunflowers in the front yard of somebody more forward thinking than me.

Leave a Reply

