Skip to content

The Carpet is my Desk

August 29, 2011

While I do have a lovely, big desk, a large wooden thing my parents bought from a garage sale in the 1960s, with purple and orange patterned contact inside the drawers, a lot of my zine making takes place on the floor. The floor of my room is an everchanging pattern of papers, a few configurations of which I revealed in my previous post. In this snapshot the astute viewer will be rewarded with a preview of my new zine, I am a Camera #16.

This zine will make its way out into the world on Sunday, for the Snapdragon Zine Fair, which I have co-organised with the good people from Take Care zine distro. We spent yesterday constructing a lavish pinata for this event, and stuffing it with tiny zines. How can I ever complain that my life is not interesting? I don’t think I have ever complained that, now I think of it.

On the day before the fair, Saturday September 3rd, I’m conducting a zine making workshop at Manly Library, from 10am – 1pm, for free! So if you are a local or fancy a ferry ride over to Manly, do come along. You can come no matter how much experience you’ve had, even if you just want to keep working on a zine you’re in the process of putting together…

The first weekend of September is shaping up to be a Very Zine Weekend indeed.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    August 31, 2011 4:08 am

    Hooray for a very zine weekend! It will be here, too, as the San Francisco Zinefest is the 3rd and 4th, and I can’t wait! I even tucked away the money that my grandmother gave me when I saw her this weekend, to spend on ziney fun!

  2. Natasha permalink
    August 31, 2011 5:34 pm

    Hi Vanessa,
    I don’t think I’m going to be able to get to the zine fair this weekend. Is there any chance you might save me a copy of any of your new zines and I can post or etsy you the funds?

    Hope it all goes well, have a lovely zine filled weekend

    Natasha

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      September 11, 2011 10:45 am

      Hi Natasha,
      Yes, I can keep some zines for you, I’ll also be at the Sunday Fair at TINA this year so maybe I’ll see you then?

  3. Natasha permalink
    September 16, 2011 8:16 am

    Oh, of course! Well i’ll come and see you there, thanks again, really looking forward to some happy zine reading in the spring sunshine

Leave a Reply

