Skip to content

September Events

September 11, 2011

The azaleas are in bloom, the brave are already wearing singlets and I have a cold. Yes, it must be September. If, in addition to this, you are wondering when you can next sit among a group of people and listen to me read you a story, you are in luck, as I seem to be doing something every week until the end of the month.

1. At Vibewire (Ultimo, Sydney) on Wednesday September 14th, I’ll be doing a talk to kick off their monthly series of nights for young writers. Young writers can listen to what I have to say about inspiration and procrastination, then play some writing games.

2. At Kaldor Public Art Projects at Jurassic Lounge (Sydney) on September 20th, I’ll be one of seven writers reading stories for “Acts of Kindness and Other Stories”. There are plenty of other interesting things going on at the Lounge that night, including a screening of “Snake Underworld with Henry Rollins“. This is also Simon’s birthday, and I don’t know if he’s more excited about my story about kindness, or the snakes.

3. At the launch of the Penguin Plays Rough Book of Short Stories in Melbourne, on Friday 23rd September, I will be reading my story from the book and dancing with you afterwards.

 4. I’ll be reading a story at the launch (Sydney) of PAN magazine’s second issue, which you can pre-order here. I’m not sure if details of this have come to the surface yet, but I think it’s safe to say you should set aside Wednesday 28th September. Yes indeed, it’s from 7pm and at the World Bar, details here.

5. I’m having a stall at the TINA Sunday Fair, with my new I am a Camera and other zines, on Sunday October 2nd (Newcastle).

After all this I will most probably be retiring to my bunker for the rest of the year, so if you think you’ll miss me, come along to one of the above.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

