Skip to content

May Happenings

May 1, 2012

Having turned over to a new month on my “Pugs and Friends” calendar (this month features a Black Pug pup with black kitten), I discovered a number of squares filled in with engagements. This month you will come across me at:

Penguin Plays Rough, Friday 4th May, 8pm. This month, Penguin Plays Rough is going to the moon, and I’ll be reading a story in the “nude”. Yes, you read it right. This is the closest I’ll probably ever come to burlesque so come prepared with smelling salts.

In a more educative role, I will be running a zine workshop at the MCA on the weekend of the 12th-13th March. The workshops run from 10am-3pm each day, so all up it’s 10 hours of zine making! You can bring along zines in progress or make one from scratch. There will be lots of equipment, including printmaking equipment, you can use. By Sunday afternoon you will know all there is to know about zines and ready for the next weekend:

The MCA zine fair, on Sunday May 20th. The big one, where it’s advised to wear sturdy shoes (there are lots of people) and stock up on cash (there are lots of zines). I’m making a new zine based on Biblioburbia and will have all my most recent zines there. I’ll bring along some Biblioburbia posters, too. I’m sharing a stall with Simon, who’ll be selling Hobby Horse and other assorted Yatesabilia.

I’ll be on stage again, more clothed this time, a few days before the fair launching the 2012 UTS Writers’ Anthology, Hide Your Fires, at the Sydney Writers Festival, on Friday 18th May.

That’s all my public events for May. If you’re a media student at Macquarie University this month you will also get to enjoy my lectures on writing about objects and  women travel writers, both of which are cracking presentations.

Otherwise you might see me driving around town in a pink car listening to a cassette of Altered Images.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lifeasawhitepicketfence permalink
    May 1, 2012 9:56 pm

    So busy! I think at times I should reside up the east coast, especially when i read of months full of fun like this, but Melbourne fits me well. Brave unveiling mentioned, will it be your first nude reading? I’ve posed naked as a life model, only ever once. I would enjoy reading naked, perhaps not so much in public.. though if I were headed for the Moon…

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      May 2, 2012 7:47 am

      It wil be my first and last nude reading, I’m sure! But I’m only going to be “nude”, not nude, if that makes sense!

Leave a Reply

