Skip to content

MCA Zine Fair

May 22, 2012

Having bought a portable Olympia typewriter the day before, I decided I should bring it with me to the fair, along with a floral display in a Chinese teapot, to decorate my table. I had inadvertently dressed in green to matched my tablecloth, something which was much remarked upon. The typewriter, however, got the most attention.

The Olympia was the perfect decoy – people photographed it instead of me. Every time I looked up someone was hovering an iPhone over it. I hope it didn’t mind its new life of fame, poor thing. I’d written the prices of my zines on the paper, but would roll it down if someone wanted to have a go at typing, if they looked trustworthy.

Here are some folks considering my Biblioburbia map and my stall, in lieu of a photo of me with it. You know what I look like. Simon’s stall next to me also had interesting features, such as the Spectre-scope for viewing Keg’s glow in the dark Indonesian ghosts zine, here’s flanked by Simon’s zine Hobby Horse and Chiara’s zine Rhetorical.

As usual the fair was very busy, but I did manage to step out from behind my stall and have a look around. Here are some of the zines I picked up:

So far the standouts include Leigh Rigozzi’s gruelling “Pubs of the Inner West” and Tamara Lazaroff’s beautiful “Prison in Macedonia”, but I have only read a few so far. Some good zine reading times in my yard await me.

For those who couldn’t make the fair, or came by my stall after my new zines had sold out, I have put my Biblioburbia zine up on Etsy.

Thanks to everyone who came by and said hello, it was lovely to see you all. Now it is time for me to retreat into blogland – I am putting together a new blog, Mirror Sydney, an album of my favourite Sydney locations. So far I have resurrected my story about Camperdown Velodrome which some of you may have read in my book, years ago.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Francesca permalink
    May 22, 2012 9:22 pm

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog – I *loved* your map at the fair (didn’t have enough cash, alas – it’s now on my awesome stuff to buy list), but I missed seeing your zine, so I’m heading over to check it out on Etsy. Cheers!

  2. May 24, 2012 4:56 am

    Amazing! I wish I could have been there in person, to see all the awesomeness!

  3. June 1, 2012 6:43 pm

    Just read Disposable Camera again. Loved it. And good to meet you briefly at the Zine Fair. Next year!

Leave a Reply

