Skip to content

From the desk of…

December 20, 2012

Hi folks, dear readers, hello friends, aloha internet,

Things have been quiet in blogland because I’ve been spending most of my time writing a book, which is something that takes a long time and a lot of tea (and instant coffee, one of my few vices). I’ve been at my desk all day writing and listening to the neighbour’s chickens and kids playing hide and seek, the roll of skateboard wheels going by, and the crash of cars going too fast over the nearby speed bump. I’ve become very acquainted with these sounds over the past few months. After the postie’s bike putters past, squeals to a stop outside my house, and then goes off again, I pad out to the letterbox to say hello to the snails and see if I have any mail. The mail reflects an embarrassing amount of vicarious shopping, i.e. items bought online, usually books, that seemed “essential” to my research a few weeks earlier. Then once distracted I might take the chance to lie in bed staring at the ceiling for 5 minutes or so, pondering an obstinate sentence or idea, before back to my desk. My shoulders and neck do not thank me for this, but most of the rest of me is quite happy to keep on writing.

It’s the end of the year, so before it slips away, I wanted to write a thank you to everyone who reads my blog and my zines, comments and writes messages and letters, people who chat to me at zine fairs, distro my zines, ask me op shop advice, ask me to be involved in things (even though sometimes I can’t say yes), people who come to my workshops, the students in my classes who aren’t too scared to say stuff, eccentrics, singing dogs, friends, idols… thank you and see you next year.

x x VB.

Hi folks

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cole Porter permalink
    December 21, 2012 6:17 am

    this post needs a simley face, so 🙂

  2. December 31, 2012 12:47 pm

    Even your writing about writing is great! Happy 2012 Vanessa, hope 2013 is even better!

Leave a Reply

