Skip to content

Zine News for March

March 17, 2013

 

 

I made a new zine about a very important connection:

Morrissey and End of World

Those lucky enough to be at Paper City last month might already have one, but for those who haven’t yet read about Morrissey and the End of the World (what is the connection?), and you’d like to track down a copy in person, make your way to Canberra for the Canberra Zine Emporium fair on Saturday March 23rd. The fair is on from 11am – 4pm and there will be plenty of zine stalls from Canberra and elsewhere, including distros like Sticky and Take Care, and I’ll be there with multiple Morrisseys. There are also copies on Etsy and you can always write to me to trade etc. But if you are near Canberra, do come and say hello.

CZE

Now is a good moment for me to show you my Cockington Green tray – I have never been to Cockington Green, although miniature villages are exactly my thing. All that has happened in years past is that I have gazed out the window wistfully while passing by. This will probably happen again this year, though I at least have the tray – with Bunty, giant cat.

Cockington Green

In other zine news, I’m making a split zine with Katie from the La La Theory, which will be out in time for the MCA zine fair on May 26th, it’s a bi-hemispheral story experiment!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2013 4:24 pm

    Thanks for posting the pic of the Cockington Green tray. I went there on a school excursion in the 1980s, the only thing I remember about it was a classmate being very naughty and getting locked on the bus, so he missed out.

  2. Freida Free permalink
    April 19, 2013 11:33 am

    My grandma lived in an old house across the road from Cockington Green when it was just a dead end street surrounded by a couple of paddocks. She had a Free. Pass. to CG and would take us there every time we – the grandkids – came to visit. I have seriously been there 30 plus times. And I remember it being the biggest treat. Me and my brother would run down the paths and point out all our favourite displays (the dog stealing the butchers sausages, the streaker being tackled by policemen on a soccer field, the man visible in one of the little houses on the toilet reading a newspaper). Afterwards at the CG cafe (called ‘The Parson’s Nose’) my grandma would let us order anything we wanted! The stress of ordering the tastiest, most extravagant food on the menu was almost too wonderful for us kids to bear. For some reason we always ended up with hotdogs with tomato sauce and chocolate icecreams.

  3. bree permalink
    August 11, 2013 8:00 am

    i went to cockington green with my parents in 1997! It ruled.

Leave a Reply

