Skip to content

Zine News for April and a Trip to the Moon

April 22, 2013

It has been a long time since I’ve made a split zine. The last one I made was in 1998, a Perth/Sydney, Tim/Vanessa collaboration called By the Jetty/Velodrome I Sat Down and Wept. I went to the Camperdown Velodrome every day for a week and wrote about what I did and thought while I was there. Soon after the velodrome was demolished, and nowadays the area that was the velodrome is now a dog park, which I visit sometimes, but always in a half present, half past frame of mind.

My new zine, so new in fact I have not yet seen the completed version, is a split with Katie Haegele from The La La Theory. I posted my half of the zine off to her a few weeks ago, and she finished it in time for the Brooklyn Zinefest. It’s called Summer Here/Winter Here, a reference to our opposite hemispheres, and how it is to write letters to someone who is in the opposite season.

The master copy will be returning to me here in Sydney sometime soon, and I’ll take it to be copied so it is ready in time for the MCA Zine Fair, which this year is on May 26th, 11am – 4pm.

That very same day I’ll be talking at a panel for Vivid Sydney, about blogging the city, about Mirror Sydney and writing about cities, with Louise Hawson of 52 Suburbs, and Violet Tingle from My Darling Darlinghurst. It’s from 4pm at the Museum of Sydney, more details here.

What does the moon have to do with all of this? Well, in my other life that is not making zines or making blogs, it was my birthday and I had a moon-themed party to celebrate this.

Moon pick a box

Moon Pick-a-Box

Moon Jackpot

The Jackpot – behind the home viewer, of course.

Moon in Yard

Front Yard Solar System

V & moon

Moon Hair

V & S in moon sepia

Cosmonauts

Things got weird.

Things got weird.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

