Skip to content

Ninety9 and Hello Brisbane

August 19, 2013
tags: ,

Holding Ninety9

I’ve been busy over at Ninety9 Notes, posting various 90s scraps that inspired my new book, Ninety9, which is out now in shops and available to order online here. The Sydney launch was held on August 14th, and saw the Midnight Special full of people listening to Mazzy Star and Belly, Mudhoney and Ride, and me wearing army boots for the first time since the 1990s. I felt uncharacteristically tough wearing them. Thanks to everyone who came to the Sydney launch, it was lots of fun.

I’ll be heading to Brisbane soon for ZICS, to launch Ninety9 on Sunday September 1st at 1pm at the ZICS venue, The Edge at Soutbank. It has been a fair while since I’ve been to Brisbane and I’m excited! There’s a zine fair over both days of ZICS and I’ll be having a table on Saturday, so come and say hello and let me know of any Brisbane city oddities I might like to explore.

In other news, I’ve been making some mixes to accompany Ninety9 at mixcloud, and I’ve written an article for Meanjin’s What I’m Reading series, about the recently published Riot Grrrl Collection. I’m writing regularly at Mirror Sydney and planning another launch for Ninety9 at this year’s TINA festival which will most probably involve lava lamps and a poster of Robert Smith.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2013 9:37 pm

    Loving Ninety9, although reading it on my kindle seems weird. Looking forward to picking up a paper copy as well!

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      August 20, 2013 1:13 pm

      I didn’t realise it would be an ebook until someone mentioned it at the launch last week! Yes it would be odd to read on a Kindle as it’s so much about the pre-digital world. Happy to know you’re enjoying it!

      • August 20, 2013 1:33 pm

        Hope the eBook format gets you some new readers – I love your paper zines, Ninety 9 came up as a suggested read online when I was looking for something else…funny how things turn out at times!

  2. georgie76 permalink
    September 3, 2013 9:19 pm

    Read out the description of the bands played at your book launch, and my husband said “wow, where can I buy a ticket!” Unfortunately we’re in Adelaide!

  3. September 25, 2013 8:04 pm

    I had never heard of your before last week and unreservedly LOVE Ninety9. I wrote for Woozy for a while in the 90s so we probably have friends in common or ran into each other in Newtown or something. Anyway, congrats. It’s rad.

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      September 26, 2013 9:39 am

      Thanks Andy – I’m so happy to hear Ninety9 struck a chord. Ah Woozy, it inspired me so much in my early days of zine making.

Leave a Reply

