Skip to content

Penguin Classics

October 27, 2013

Yesterday I was on the 428 bus when I noticed a man across from me reading this book:

Appian

I immediately felt self conscious as I was reading this book:

Moz autobio

I hoped to catch his eye, to acknowledge the somewhat coincidence. But he didn’t look up, engrossed in the Civil Wars. I looked back down and continued reading. “Whatever detains the eye is understood by no one…”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2013 10:05 pm

    I still can’t believe Penguin published Morrissey in the Classics series.

  2. October 28, 2013 1:10 am

    Oooh! What is the source and context of that quote? As a book designer, I need that in my arsenal to point out to stubborn clients why their design ideas (sometimes) shouldn’t prevail.

    You offer a nice little story in this posting; I showed it to everyone in the office.

    == Michael Höhne

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      October 28, 2013 8:31 am

      This quote is from a section of Morrissey’s Autobiography in which he’s discussing why he finds looking at high red brick walls more sensually pleasurable than eating!

Leave a Reply

