Skip to content

Fancy Dress in 2015

December 27, 2014

Dear Readers,

Thank you for reading and following this blog in 2014, with its occasional thoughts and updates. Most of my writing this year appeared on my blog Mirror Sydney, and indeed much of my writerly activities this year involved exploring the city and the suburbs, writing stories about places and making maps. I also put out a couple of zines, I am a Camera #17, the Penrith Arcades Project map, and Everybody Drives a Used Car/Boiracers and Mazdabators, a split zine with Alex Wild. I appeared at the Sydney Writers’ Festival to talk about the 1990s, memoir and my 2013 published memoir Ninety9, and also demonstrated goth dancing to a large audience in the Festival Club in the middle of reading a story about Bela Lugosi’s Dead. So, nothing particularly out of the ordinary.

I’ll see you in the new year with new exhibitions and stories and maybe even a new book. Soon I’ll be leading a tour of Surry Hills for Art Month, and helping to launch Anwen Crawford’s book on Live Through This at Gleebooks in February, so you might come across me in one of these places. For now it’s a happy new year from me, on the pavement outside the fancy dress store, deciding on costumes for 2015 (2014 fancy dress included – dictaphone (Diane from Twin Peaks), Margot from The Good Life, and a block of gold).

Vanessa Fancy Dress

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2015 5:11 pm

    Hi, I’d been keen to do your tour of Surry Hills for Art Month. Please keep us up to date with details!

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      January 26, 2015 7:52 pm

      Thanks Rozie, I will – Art Month are yet to launch their program, when they do I’ll post details with booking info. The tour will be Saturday March 14th.

Leave a Reply

