Skip to content

The Writer and the Silver Bear

September 16, 2016

As far as material possession go, I have more than my fair share after 25 years of regular op shopping. As much as I tell myself there is nothing more I need or want, sometimes objects with particular talismanic power will make themselves known to me. It was thus with the silver bear.

The bear was put out for sale outside Reverse Garbage, alongside a box of foam offcuts. It was about a metre high and glittery silver and at first I fought my inclination to inspect it further. But after I had left the store, and was sitting on a bench outside having some lunch, I found my eyes drawn back to the bear. The situation escalated. When a man approached the bear and picked it up, testing its weight, I had a sudden lurch of feeling. The next thing I knew:

bear-web

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2016 10:16 pm

    As long as you don’t follow the thought “now, what will I do with it?” down the rabbithole, you will be fine and highly enjoying your silver bear.
    It’s always just the thoughts that spoil the fun in human existance.

    • Vanessa Berry permalink*
      September 16, 2016 10:22 pm

      Wise words – I will do my best not to question its utility and purpose!

  2. Larissa Stone permalink
    September 16, 2016 10:30 pm

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

